Snoop Dogg has finally released a new compilation album called “Snoop Dogg presents Algorithm” or simply “Algorithm” on 19 November 2021.

His first release as Def Jam Recordings’ Executive Creative and Strategic Consultant, ‘Algorithm’ sees Snoop call upon various Def Jam affiliates to lay verses onto a set of smoked-out, psychedelic instrumentals. Snoop leads from the front with his laidback cadence, offering quirky quips and lyrical tongue-twisters.

‘Algorithm’’s talented feature list is notably impressive. There are hard New York spitters Dave East and Fabolous on ‘Make Some Money’ and nostalgic rap gymnastics from Redman and Wu-Tang Clan‘s Method Man on ‘Alright’, while Usher and California singer Eric Bellinger reflect on the silky ‘New Oldie’ about those R&B songs that have gone on to become generational classics.

The biggest collaboration on ‘Algorithm’, though, is the rap supergroup Mount Westmore, featuring Snoop and three of hip-hop’s pivotal trailblazers: E-40, Too $hort and the rebel who helped start it all, Ice Cube.

The four of them combine over the suitably supersonic subwoofers on ‘Big Subwoofer’, with its simple refrain (“Big subwoofer in the back like, what’s up? / Blow the windows out the frame, it’s a party when I pull up”) and the foursome’s zippy one-liners making this star-studded team-up one of the album’s most exciting features.

‘Algorithm’ also showcases some new talent. Fresh-faced Ohio artist Nefertitti Avani brings sweetly-sung hook vocals, reminiscent of the R&B greats of the 2010s, to ‘Alright’ as she references one of Snoop’s most beloved features: “Ain’t nuthin’ but a G thang, baby / Def Jam got the place goin’ crazy.”

Avani even gets to spit a full verse on the track, which is packed full of the kind of confidence and cadence that worked for Erykah Badu on 2002’s ‘Love of My Life (An Ode to Hip-Hop)’.

Recommended – Kanye and Drake to perform together putting feud aside.