The second wave of the Magnetic Fields lineup has been announced, and will be headlined by the eclectic electronic duo Ratatat. Yes, this is really happening.

A culturally immersive experience that brings together the most eclectic group of artists and people from around the world, Magnetic Fields is no ordinary music festival. Alsisar Mahal, which is a palace-turned-hotel, will host this year’s edition from December 18-20. The festival has everything from eccentric artists, dawn-breaking secret parties, star-gazing workshops to some incredible musicians and live performances.

magnetic5(Image via: Ratatat/Facebook)

The brilliant American experimental rocktronica duo Mike Stroud and Evan Mast, better known as Ratatat are gracing India with their musical genius for the first time ever. Using synthesisers, guitars and simple percussion, Ratatat have managed to created a sound that is smooth, versatile, and just effortlessly cool. In collaboration with Kid Cudi and MGMT in the past, they created the chart-topping single “Pursuit of Happiness”. They performed both the Coachella weekends, Primavera Sound and Glastonbury this year!

Some other exciting additions to the lineup are Superfuzz, the Delhi-based rock band, singer-songwriter Alisha Batth, producers and DJs JitterKumail, Sulk Station and Nicholson. BLOT! will be presenting a specially-curated set for the festival. Joining Pakistani beatmaker Rudoh at the first-ever combined showcase of Indian and Pakistani electronic music producers, featuring Forever South and Consolidate – will be Islamabad-based experimental electronica producer Asfandyar Khan aka TMPST

In addition to the previously announced artists and the Red Bull Music Academy stage at the festival, Magnetic Fields has just revealed the rest of the amazing lineup. The Red Bull Music Academy stage has added genre-bending DJs Hunee & Antal, techno producer Palms Trax, Brainfeeder selector Kutmah, new Indian act Perfect Timing and analogue hardware fanatic Aqua Dominatrix to their already awesome list of artists.

Artists already announced as part of the lineup include Peter Cat Recording Co, Donn Bhat + Passenger Revelator, Chennai-based electro-rock band F16’s, Sid Vashi, two-piece live electronica outfit SnowShoe, American experimental beatking Shigeto, and Austrian duo HVOB!

Magnetic Fields also plans to step away from the Indian habit of limiting sets to 45-60 minutes, and actually have extended sets this time. There’s no doubt this year’s edition is going to be absolutely spectacular, and we couldn’t be more excited.