The newest members to join the Global Citizen India Movement and we must say, it’s quite an illustrious group.

Just today Global Citizen India announced four influential names who have committed to support the Global Citizen India movement – International pop star Demi Lovato, Freida Pinto, Vidya Balan and Vivek Oberoi. The movement has already mobilised almost 500,000 young people to take action for water, sanitation and hygiene, education and gender equality. And it’s been just 7 weeks since the action was launched! The stars will show their support for the movement by being present at the Global Citizen Festival which is scheduled to take place on the 19th of November, 2016 in Mumbai.

People from across the country have been participating in the movement by logging on to and engaging in different actions and earning a chance to win passes for the festival. Actions include tweeting to banks to commit funds for WASH lending, lobbying world leaders to accept India into APEC and asking all Chief Ministers in India to remove the tax on menstrual hygiene products. The Action Journey will close on Wednesday 9th November and winners will be notified within 72 hours. A limited number of Gold and Silver level tickets for the Festival will also go on sale from Tuesday 8 November at 12 noon on online ticketing partner BookMyShow; watch out for the announcement on the dedicated Global Citizen Festival India page.

Hugh Evans, CEO, Global Citizen said: “Gender equality is a central pillar in our fight to end extreme poverty. We are thrilled to announce powerful advocates for this issue – Demi Lovato, Freida Pinto, Vidya Balan and Vivek Oberoi – joining the all-star lineup of the Global Citizen India Festival. Half a million young Indians have taken over 1.7 million actions in support of our campaigns; it is exhilarating to see that the youth of India won’t wait for change.”

The inaugural Global Citizen Festival India will be headlined by Coldplay, Jay Z, Demi Lovato, Aamir Khan, Arjun Kapoor, A.R. Rahman, Arijit Singh, Amitabh Bachchan, Ayushmann Khurrana, Dia Mirza, Farhan Akhtar, Freida Pinto, Kareena Kapoor Khan, Katrina Kaif, Malaika Arora Khan, Monali Thakur, Parineeti Chopra, Ranveer Singh, Sachin Tendulkar, Sakshi Malik, Shah Rukh Khan, Shankar Ehsaan Loy, Shraddha Kapoor, Sonakshi Sinha, Vidya Balan, Vijender Singh and Vivek Oberoi.